LAS VEGAS (KLAS) — A brand new legislation will go into impact on Jan. 1, 2022 that may require any Nevada scholar coming into kindergarten to be 5 years outdated on the primary day of faculty. Previous to the legislation, there was some wiggle room that allowed for college kids to begin faculty so long as they turned 5 by Sept. 30.
Faculty begin dates fluctuate relying on non-public and public colleges however most begin by mid-August. This alteration will largely influence households who have been planning to enroll their 4-year-old — who will flip 5 shortly after faculty begins — into kindergarten.
In 2022, when the legislation is in impact, the primary day of faculty for Clark County Faculty District might be Monday, Aug. 8. Any little one who isn’t 5 years outdated on that date received’t have the ability to enroll. This might trigger some dad and mom to scramble to discover a pre-Okay program, and even repeat a program till their little one meets the age requirement the next faculty yr.
Senate Invoice 102 was handed by the Nevada Legislature through the previous session. The sponsor Republican State Senator Scott Hammond pushed for the change saying college students are higher ready in the event that they wait till they’re 5 years outdated.
The invoice would successfully guarantee that youngsters coming into first grade are 6 years outdated and kids coming into second grade are 7 years outdated.